About MSP


The Mathematical Society of the Philippines is the Philippines' premier professional organization dedicated to the promotion of mathematics research and education in the country.  Founded in 1973, it has grown from a small Manila-based group of math educators to a nation-wide network of individuals, with chapters in the three island groups of Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.  The MSP has represented the country in the International Mathematical Union since 1978.

The MSP is governed by a National Board of Directors elected by the general membership.  The Society has regional chapters throughout the country.  The MSP conducts the annual Philippine Mathematical Olympiad and trains the Philippine Team to the International Mathematical Olympiad with the support of the Department of Science and Technology and other sponsors.  Since 1978, the MSP represents the country as the Philippines’ Technical Committee for Mathematics in the International Mathematical Union.


The members of the current National Board of Directors are:


President:  Jose Ernie C. Lope
Vice President:  Carlene P. Arceo
Secretary:  Editha C. Jose
Treasurer:  Jose Maria L. Escaner IV


Jericho B. Bacani
Emmanuel A. Cabral
Roberto B. Corcino
Angelyn R. Lao
Richard S. Lemence